12D Sam Carlsen & Dave Allen



Truck Details

Name(The Reaper)
Year Built2011
EngineChevrolet LS1 5.7L
TransmissionToyota Windom A540e
DiffsNitro Customs 9″ Front, Toyota Landcruiser 80 Series 9″ Rear
LockersHowat Hydraulic Lockers
SuspensionFox Shocks, 4-Link Front, 4 Link Rear
Wheels35×12.5xR15 Federal Couragia MT on 15×10″ OMF Alloys

Truck History

Previous DriversAccolades
Sam Carlsen (2023-)First season
Wayne Weatherley (2020-2023)
Neil Moratti (2013-2020) Top 10’s (2014, 2016)
Mark Thorburn (2011-2012)Top 10 (2012)

The sister truck to the #391 CowperTruck of Russell Hall, this one was the higher spec model of the two, featuring 4-link suspension front and rear. Original owner Mark Thorburn competed a sole season in the Hot Red truck, claiming 5th Overall and a win at Te Puke during the season.

Mark Thorburn

Neil Moratti would then purchase it and become a regular feature in the Top 10 for the next 7 years, claiming 6th Overall in 2014 and 7th in 20 Top 10 at two events since, not bad for a buggy now past 10 years!

Wayne Weatherley would return to the sport in 2020 in the renamed “The Reaper” and achieve multiple Top 10 placings over the next four seasons.

With Weatherly upgrading to the current 2NZ Nitro Custom of Neville Mather, Sam Carlsen is one of the sports rookie drivers for 2023, making his debut at the Pairs Event prior to tackling the season!