5D Scott Biggs & Phil Walton

Nitro #8″


Scott Biggs & Phil Walton


GFC Fastners

Truck Details

NameNitro #8
MakeNitro Customs
Year Built2021
EngineChevrolet LS3 6.2L
TransmissionPowerglide with SCS Transfercase
DiffsNitro Custom 9″ Front and Rear with Nissan Patrol Diffs
LockersTomalin Hydraulic Lockers
SuspensionORI Shocks, 4-Link Front, 4 Link Rear
Wheels35x12xR15 Federal Couragia MT on 15×12″ Three-Piece Alloys


Scott Biggs1NZ 2018, 2019, 2021 in Nitro #1

Nitro #8 is one of the first trucks of the new generation from Nitro Customs, built alongside/identical to Jamie Larsens “Nitro Turtle”. Featuring an LS3 fitted to a Powerglide transmission with custom SCS transfercase.

In the buggies first full season it claimed 5th overall and a win at the National Final in 2022. Since then it has gone through a major overhaul for 2023! In the process, the buggy is now 130kgs lighter and back to basics.

Scott Biggs & Phil Walton previously teamed up in 2019 with Nitro #1, taking out the title that season!

Scott Biggs is a x3 time National Champ of the sport. Originally starting out navigating for twin brother Jarred in C Class, the duo worked their way from vehicles such as Freak, Freak 2 and Bumblebee before driving their own buggies in D Class.

Scott would build his own Homebuilt LS powered D Class truck taking his first win in 2015 with zero points + speed, a rarity achieved by very few! At the end of the season Biggs teamed up with engineer Brian Howat to build the Biggs-Howat buggy, achieving a list of wins including the Suzuki Extreme 4×4 Challenge but finishing runner-up twice in the National Series.

Biggs would then form Nitro Customs with Tom Baeriswyl to create Nitro #1, the first LS powered buggy under 1000kgs! He would go on to with two titles back-to-back in 2018/2019 before taking a third in 2021.

Phil Walton is also a multiple champ, having won the title from both sides of the truck! First as a navigator in 2005 alongside father Martin, then as a driver in the same vehicle in 2008, accomplishing the feat with Chace Rodda who too won a title in 2001.