6D Russell Luders & Neil Moratti

“The General”



Tomalin Engineering Services, Luders Contracting, Castlegate James

Truck Details

NameThe General
Year Built2012
EngineChevrolet LS2 6.0L
TransmissionPowerglide gearbox with Transfercase
DiffsNissan Patrol 9″ Front & Rear, Toyota 80 Series outers with Rear Steer
LockersTomalin Hydraulic Lockers
SuspensionFox Shocks, 4-Link Front, 4 Link Rear
Wheels35x12xR15 Federal Couragia MT on 15×12″ OMF Alloys


Previous DriversAccolades
Russell Luders (2016-)Top 10 (2017, 2018, 2019, 2021)
Zane Edlin (2013-2016)Top 10 (2015) Winner of the 2014 National Final
Dan Cowper (2012-2013)

The first of the modern CowperTruck made its debut in 2012, although to a rough start! Dan Cowper would place it 7th on debut but was unable to gain a placing for 2013. 2014 would see Cowper only do another two events prior to selling the truck to Zane Edlin and joining alongside in the co-drivers seat. Fortunes would change come the end of the season, with Edlin taking a maiden win at the National Final!

Russell Luders would then purchase the CowperTruck in 2016 with Chris Tomalin jumping in alongside. Luders was a past B Class champ and runner up in F Class back at the turn of the millennium. Showing no signs of age, the duo would punch ‘The General’ well into the Top 10, placing three years in a row and claiming 4th Overall in 2017. After a season off Luders returns with a new Powerglide gearbox and Neil Moratti joining in the co-drivers seat!

Neil Moratti is a previous D-Class competitor, placing in the Top 10 himself as a driver in the 2010’s.